Hayao Miyazaki to Receive Governors Award

Hayao Miyazaki to Receive Governors Award

Legendary artist and co-creator of Studio Ghibli Hayao Miyazaki has been named as a recipient of the 2014 Governors Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The prestigious award, and accompanying Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

From the press release:

Miyazaki is an artist, writer, director, producer and three-time Oscar nominee in the Animated Feature Film category, winning in 2002 for ‘Spirited Away.’ His other nominations were for ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ in 2005 and ‘The Wind Rises’ last year. Miyazaki gained an enormous following in his native Japan for such features as ‘Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind,’‘Laputa: Castle in the Sky,’ ‘My Neighbor Totoro’ and ‘Kiki’s Delivery Service’ before breaking out internationally in the late 1990s with ‘Princess Mononoke.’ He is the co-founder of Studio Ghibli, a renowned animation studio based in Tokyo.

Other recipients of the 2014 Governors Award are Jean-Claude Carrière and Maureen O’Hara. The awards will be presented at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ sixth annual Governors Awards on to be held on November 8th at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, Calif.

Source: Deadline.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s